Haematological disorders

Haematological disorders can also be referred to as blood disorders and can affect one or more parts of the blood. They can be both cancerous and non-cancerous.

There are three main cancerous haematological disorders – leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma – which are all cancers arising from abnormal blood or bone marrow cells.

Diagram - Cancer Research UK

Types of haematological disorders

The Haematology Unit provides diagnosis and treatment of disorders of the blood and lymph nodes including:



  • Hodgkin lymphoma – Hodgkin lymphoma is a cancer that develops in the lymph nodes of the lymphatic system
  • non Hodgkin lymphoma – non-Hodgkin lymphoma is a blood cancer that appears as a solid tumour in the glands, usually of the neck, chest, armpit or groin


  • myeloma– is a cancer arising from plasma cells, a type of white blood cell which is made in the bone marrow

There are also a range of non-cancerous disorders treated within the haematology unit including

  • myeloproliferative disorders (MPDS) – there are three main types of MPDs called essential thrombocythaemia, polycythaemia vera and myelofibrosis which affect thelevels of blood cells produced in our bodies
  • myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) – a blood disorder that causes a drop in the number of healthy blood cells

The Trust’s Haematology Unit offers rapid advice, diagnosis and treatment for patients displaying symptoms of both non-cancerous and cancerous haematological disorders and has a specialist haematology team that will see you from referral from your GP to diagnose and treat your haematological disorder.

Support and advice for people in the community with haematology disorders is also provided.

Our Cancer Services team is here to support you every step of the way.

This haematological disorders section on our website takes you through your pathway within the Trust and provides you with the information and support you will need throughout your journey.